CRITERIA FOR INDUCTION

Inductees to the Laurentian Ski Hall of Fame are usually proposed to the selection committee by letter or e-mail of recommendation. The eligible categories are as follows:

ATHLETES

In the 'Athletes' category, we induct athletes from all ski disciplines (alpine, cross-country, freestyle, jumping, snowboarding, etc.) who have successfully competed and distinguished themselves on the Laurentian, national or international scene. Priority is given to athletes born and raised in the Laurentians, but we can also acknowledge the undeniable contribution of athletes from all disciplines who have made extraordinary achievements on the international scene. Previous Laurentian inductees include Claude Dumontier (2010) and Alexandre Bilodeau (2014), while Canadian inductees include Nancy Greene (1988).

BUILDERS

In the 'Builders' category, we wish to recognize people who have distinguished themselves as pioneers, who have innovated and who have made a remarkable contribution to the development of skiing in the Laurentians. These builders are more than just operators or workers in the sport in the region. They didn't just run a ski resort or a ski distribution company for years, they also distinguished themselves in their field.

ORGANIZATIONS AND CLUBS

In this category, we honour groups, clubs and other organizations that have marked the sport of skiing in the Laurentians and contributed to its advancement and popularity in a special way. Several pioneering ski clubs have already been inducted, including the Red Bird Ski Club, Penguin Ski Club, McGill Outing Club and Zone Laurentienne de ski.

JOURNALISTS

This category recognizes journalists who have made an outstanding contribution to the promotion of skiing, especially early pioneers who had to invest a great deal of time and effort to 'cover' the sport, to obtain space in their newspaper or airtime in their media. The inductees include Lucien Lachapelle (Canadian Press), Myrtle Cook-McGowan (The Montréal Star) and Mario Brisebois (Journal de Montréal), all of whom have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Submissions are evaluated by a selection committee.